Taken from ‘The Thesis Whisperer’: ‘The nowhere-everywhere place’ i.e. life just after submitting.

The Thesis Whisperer

This post is written by Maia Sauren, a PhD student at RMIT  who will be doing a series on life immediately post PhD

I submitted my thesis. About three weeks ago. I still don’t quite believe it.

Hate me yet? I would. Every time a friend submitted theirs, I wanted to kill them. Or die. On the up side, it’s really possible! Until it was almost over, I didn’t think so.

I’ve been enrolled for many years, and finishing took all my reserves. Working part-time just wasn’t working for me, so I took out a loan. I developed a mild social phobia – the idea of talking about something other than THIS CHAPTER made me panic. I transcended the full gamut of emotions and sublimated them all into mania. I ate my body weight in nutella. I co-opted someone into formatting and called in friends to read drafts. I…

View original post 803 more words

About Claudia Harflett

Plant ecologist, interested especially in plant-herbivore interactions and ecological chemistry, but also soil processes, invertebrate identification esp. pollinators, and citizen science. Also interested in the arts: Art: David Hockney, Henry Moore, Katsushika Hokusai. Music: Muse, Metallica, Tool, Rachmaninov. Literature: Currently reading Crime & Punishment by Dostoyevsky.

Leave a Reply

