So what now??

Goal of Post: To come up with a plan/ a to-do list for the research side of my life for this year.

Introduction:

So I have submitted my PhD. My viva is booked for the 19th April, less than a month away. Im on the dole – I have to apply for 2 positions a week to get my dole money. I live with my parents which is driving me mad, and provides many excuses for not getting any work done. I have an interview at the OU, which went really well for a ‘people-based’ role as a Student Registration & Enquiry Assistant. However I need to start preparing for my viva, and thinking about my PhD publications, and trying to get my research career off the ground.

Goals for this month:

  1. Prepare for viva (also includes roughly identifying 1) planning potential papers and 2) areas of expertise).
  2. Apply for jobs that I enjoy and are useful to my career = stepping stone, since I am not financially desperate enough to work in a call centre.

Goals for this year:

  1. Identify potential papers from PhD
  2. Identify my research areas of expertise
  3. Identify research areas that I’m interested in exploring and are recession proof.
  4. Volunteering with conservation projects/ citizen science/ science communication stuff…
  5. Start writing up papers to be published!!

Action Plan for Viva preparation:

  1. Read over thesis without a pen in my hand or a notebook nearby.
  2. Go over websites for ‘preparing for your viva’ and books, and use tips/ potential questions.
  3. Contact Luton Uni for using their library (Luton library has no power sockets for laptops, although it does have wi-fi).
  4. Form profiles of examiners research areas and their take on my thesis.
  5. Prepare for Viva!!
Tags: , ,

About Claudia Harflett

Plant ecologist, interested especially in plant-herbivore interactions and ecological chemistry, but also soil processes, invertebrate identification esp. pollinators, and citizen science. Also interested in the arts: Art: David Hockney, Henry Moore, Katsushika Hokusai. Music: Muse, Metallica, Tool, Rachmaninov. Literature: Currently reading Crime & Punishment by Dostoyevsky.

Leave a Reply

